Manchester United claimed a comfortable 3-0 victory against Liverpool to edge closer to their Premier League title, thanks to some uncharacteristic play by Liverpool players.

Both sides were pretty even in the first 15 minutes, but United started to show more control later on, with Paul Scholes bossing the midfield.

Headers from Wes Brown gave United the lead on 34th minute, thanks to a mistake from Liverpool’s goalie Pepe Reina. Javier Mascherano made United’s life much easier by getting himself sent off just before half time with his second yellow card for dissent.

United continued to dominate the match in the second half. Liverpool did show a flash of hope in the 70s minute, but Ronaldo’s 79th minute header ended their hope altogether, before Nani pounced in United’s third on 81st minute.

It was Ronaldo’s 34th goal (25th league goal) of the season, and his first ever goal against Liverpool.

Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Footballer of the Year (2007) by the Football Writers’ Association – adding the award to his PFA Player and Young Player of the Year accolades last month.

The Reds winger topped the journalists’ poll ahead of Chelsea striker Didier Drogba, while Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes were third and fourth in the voting.

Ronaldo will receive the trophy at the FWA Footballer of the Year dinner at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on May 17.


Cristiano Ronaldo won both the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year Award 2007.

Ronaldo became the first player to win both awards in the same year since Andy Gray in 1977; Ronaldo received his awards at a gala dinner in London on Sunday night (April 22).

Ronaldo has always been the favourite; his only real competitor for Player of the Year was Chelsea’s Didier Drogba, who is 2nd on the list, while Ronaldo’s Manchester United team mate Paul Scholes in 3rd.

The 2nd place for young players is Arsenal’s Cesc Fabregas; Tottenham’s Aaron Lennon 3rd.

Manchester United also have a strong hold for PFA Premier League Team of the Year, filling 8 out of 11 spots. It will be quite an ironic if Chelsea wins the Premier League and FA Cup in the end, with only one player in the Team of the Year… touch wood.

Edwin van der Sar, Gary Neville, Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Didier Drogba (Chelsea) and Dimitar Berbatov (Tottenham)

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson received a Special Merit Award.

Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes believes team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo is currently the best player in the world.

The Portuguese wing-wizard has been in dazzling form for most of the season, and has netted an impressive 12 Premiership goals already.

“The amount of goals and the amount of assists he’s had has been frightening,” Scholes told BBC’s Football Focus.

“I haven’t seen anybody take players on, score goals and make goals like he has in this first half of the season, so he rightfully deserves that tag.

“We just hope that for the second half of the season he can have the same effect on the team that he’s had in the first half. We’re sure he can do that.”