Cristiano Ronaldo won the treble at United’s end of season awards, just hours after the Reds wrapped up the Barclays Premier League title with a thrilling win at Wigan.

Victory at the JJB Stadium made for an electric atmosphere at the Old Trafford party, where individual players at senior, reserve and academy level were rewarded for their efforts.

Ronaldo retained the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year gongs – and added the Goal of the Season award to his collection.

The Portuguese winger actually occupied the top two spots in the Goal of the Season award, taking first place with his stunning free kick against Portsmouth and second for his impudent backheel against Aston Villa.

The treble completes a remarkable campaign for Ronaldo, who earlier this month retained the PFA and Football Writers’ Player of the Season awards for his exertions.


Cristiano Ronaldo scored his 31st Premier League goals of the season, and Ryan Giggs strike late to gave Manchester United a 2-0 victory against Wigan, and ultimately the Premiership title of the 2007/2008 season.

Ronaldo kept his nerved to covert a penalty on 33rd minute after Wayne Rooney was fouled in the box. Giggs, introduced on the 68th minute for his 758th United appearance, has equalled the record by Sir Bobby Charlton… and there would be no better way to celebrate that milestone by scoring a goal in the 80th minute.

A remarkable season for Manchester United, a great season for Ronaldo, but it’s not over yet. There is one more game to go on May 21… the Champions League final in Moscow.

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year for the second time in succession.

The Manchester United midfielder has enjoyed another outstanding campaign having scored 38 goals in all competitions for the Barclays Premier League champions.

The 23-year-old beat off competition from Fernando Torres, Steven Gerrard, Cesc Fabregas, Emmanuel Adebayor and David James to land the prize.

Arsenal midfielder Fabregas was named Young Player of the Year – an award which Ronaldo also won in 2007 – at a star-studded ceremony at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel tonight.

PFA team of the year (Premier League)

David James (Portsmouth), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd), Gael Clichy (Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal), Fernando Torres (Liverpool).


Manchester United claimed a comfortable 3-0 victory against Liverpool to edge closer to their Premier League title, thanks to some uncharacteristic play by Liverpool players.

Both sides were pretty even in the first 15 minutes, but United started to show more control later on, with Paul Scholes bossing the midfield.

Headers from Wes Brown gave United the lead on 34th minute, thanks to a mistake from Liverpool’s goalie Pepe Reina. Javier Mascherano made United’s life much easier by getting himself sent off just before half time with his second yellow card for dissent.

United continued to dominate the match in the second half. Liverpool did show a flash of hope in the 70s minute, but Ronaldo’s 79th minute header ended their hope altogether, before Nani pounced in United’s third on 81st minute.

It was Ronaldo’s 34th goal (25th league goal) of the season, and his first ever goal against Liverpool.

« Older Entries |