Cristiano Ronaldo will be paid a staggering £900,000 for three hours’ work in a bid to prove he’s the world’s greatest player.

The Portuguese superstar is the latest to sign up for A:3K Football, a £10million gladiator-style test of skill at the 02 Arena on July 17.

Less than a week after the World Cup Final, Ronaldo will battle it out with Steven Gerrard, Didier Drogba, Cesc Fabregas and David Villa in a series of innovative skill challenges.

The event is expected to be played in front of 15,000 fans at the O2 with ITV showing highlights. One more football superstar will complete the line-up. We hope it’s Lionel Messi.


Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Footballer of the Year (2007) by the Football Writers’ Association – adding the award to his PFA Player and Young Player of the Year accolades last month.

The Reds winger topped the journalists’ poll ahead of Chelsea striker Didier Drogba, while Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes were third and fourth in the voting.

Ronaldo will receive the trophy at the FWA Footballer of the Year dinner at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on May 17.


The plaudits for Cristiano Ronaldo’s superlative season keep rolling in, as he has been named player of the year by football fans voting through the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA).

The 22-year-old Manchester United star scooped the players’ player and young player of the year awards at the PFA’s gala dinner on Sunday night, making him the first player to win both awards at the ceremony since Andy Gray in 1977.

Fans voted for Ronaldo ahead of other favourites such as Chelsea’s Didier Drogba and Arsenal youngster Cesc Fabregas, both of whom have had excellent seasons of their own.


Cristiano Ronaldo won both the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year Award 2007.

Ronaldo became the first player to win both awards in the same year since Andy Gray in 1977; Ronaldo received his awards at a gala dinner in London on Sunday night (April 22).

Ronaldo has always been the favourite; his only real competitor for Player of the Year was Chelsea’s Didier Drogba, who is 2nd on the list, while Ronaldo’s Manchester United team mate Paul Scholes in 3rd.

The 2nd place for young players is Arsenal’s Cesc Fabregas; Tottenham’s Aaron Lennon 3rd.

Manchester United also have a strong hold for PFA Premier League Team of the Year, filling 8 out of 11 spots. It will be quite an ironic if Chelsea wins the Premier League and FA Cup in the end, with only one player in the Team of the Year… touch wood.

Edwin van der Sar, Gary Neville, Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Didier Drogba (Chelsea) and Dimitar Berbatov (Tottenham)

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson received a Special Merit Award.

« Older Entries |