Cristiano Ronaldo will be paid a staggering £900,000 for three hours’ work in a bid to prove he’s the world’s greatest player.

The Portuguese superstar is the latest to sign up for A:3K Football, a £10million gladiator-style test of skill at the 02 Arena on July 17.

Less than a week after the World Cup Final, Ronaldo will battle it out with Steven Gerrard, Didier Drogba, Cesc Fabregas and David Villa in a series of innovative skill challenges.

The event is expected to be played in front of 15,000 fans at the O2 with ITV showing highlights. One more football superstar will complete the line-up. We hope it’s Lionel Messi.


Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year for the second time in succession.

The Manchester United midfielder has enjoyed another outstanding campaign having scored 38 goals in all competitions for the Barclays Premier League champions.

The 23-year-old beat off competition from Fernando Torres, Steven Gerrard, Cesc Fabregas, Emmanuel Adebayor and David James to land the prize.

Arsenal midfielder Fabregas was named Young Player of the Year – an award which Ronaldo also won in 2007 – at a star-studded ceremony at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel tonight.

PFA team of the year (Premier League)

David James (Portsmouth), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd), Gael Clichy (Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal), Fernando Torres (Liverpool).


The plaudits for Cristiano Ronaldo’s superlative season keep rolling in, as he has been named player of the year by football fans voting through the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA).

The 22-year-old Manchester United star scooped the players’ player and young player of the year awards at the PFA’s gala dinner on Sunday night, making him the first player to win both awards at the ceremony since Andy Gray in 1977.

Fans voted for Ronaldo ahead of other favourites such as Chelsea’s Didier Drogba and Arsenal youngster Cesc Fabregas, both of whom have had excellent seasons of their own.


Cristiano Ronaldo won both the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year Award 2007.

Ronaldo became the first player to win both awards in the same year since Andy Gray in 1977; Ronaldo received his awards at a gala dinner in London on Sunday night (April 22).

Ronaldo has always been the favourite; his only real competitor for Player of the Year was Chelsea’s Didier Drogba, who is 2nd on the list, while Ronaldo’s Manchester United team mate Paul Scholes in 3rd.

The 2nd place for young players is Arsenal’s Cesc Fabregas; Tottenham’s Aaron Lennon 3rd.

Manchester United also have a strong hold for PFA Premier League Team of the Year, filling 8 out of 11 spots. It will be quite an ironic if Chelsea wins the Premier League and FA Cup in the end, with only one player in the Team of the Year… touch wood.

Edwin van der Sar, Gary Neville, Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Didier Drogba (Chelsea) and Dimitar Berbatov (Tottenham)

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson received a Special Merit Award.

« Older Entries |